Parents’ Night Out: A Poll

March 4, 2011

It’s Friday night, and the mood is right.  Gonna have some fun, show you how it’s done, TGIF.

Actually, it’s Friday night and the mood is grim.  It’s been a long day and an even longer week and I’m trying to get myself off the couch and out the door to a game night with friends.  This shouldn’t be that much of a challenge — one of my favorite girlfriends is coming to pick me up, we’re going all of 5 minutes away, and I get to bring Apples to Apples.  But ever since I became a mom, and especially since I became the mom of many, it has been practically impossible for me to keep up anything resembling a social life.  It’s not that I don’t have super awesome amazing hilarious ridiculously great friends, or that they don’t do super great fantastic things… I think it’s just that I’m so damn tired.

What about you?  Are you better at striking a parent/person balance than I am?  Tell me about it in the poll below:

-Meryl at the Goose

P.S.  Don’t feel bad if you chose the third answer — that just means you get to spend your evenings reading this blog, and really, what could be more fun that that?

2 Responses to “Parents’ Night Out: A Poll”


  1. I get to go out probably once every other month or so, maybe once every three months. Our only family around here is my own mama, who we live with, so I try not to ask her to babysit much so that she’s willing when I really need her. I’m just not comfortable with the idea of teenaged babysitters. Parents’ night out is rare, but when it does happen, I come back feeling so refreshed and ready to be Mama again!

  2. Jennifer Says:

    We are VERY thankful for grandparents in town. We get time without child nearly every week (whether we choose to go out or not is another matter).


Leave a Reply

