Staff Profile: Casey Lees

December 12, 2010

You know when you and a good friend are living really far away from each other, and your friend falls in love, and you don’t get the chance to meet the object of his or her affection because of the miles between you, but your friend is so happy that you’re just sure you adore this new paramour?  That’s sort of what happened for me with our new Mama Goose Assistant Manager, Casey Lees.  She returned from a prolonged Goose hiatus during my temporary one, and beyond spotting her briefly at the coat sale, we didn’t get a chance to spend much time together.  But, Kelly and Larkin and the other goslings were so glowy about all things Casey, I knew she must be something special — and I was right!  Now that I’ve gotten some quality Casey time, I’m smitten.  After reading the profile below, you will be too!


How long have you worked for Mama Goose and what do you do?

I was hired in 2008 a couple months before the Big Goose opened. I didn’t start until the new store was up and running. Then I left for a little over a year, and now I am back, as the Assistant Manager.  (Blogling note:  Miss Casey, much like myself, hates the snow and cold, and temporarily fled Ithaca for Virginia Beach.  Kelly Goose takes full responsibility for Casey’s return, as one day she said out loud, “Oh, I wish Casey would move back,” and very quickly thereafter, her wish came true.)

When you were gone, what did you miss most about the Goose?

I missed the people! I love working for someone who truly cares about their employees. I missed working with co-workers who were of such quality, and so very genuine— people you really can rely on (both in terms of work and friendship) and have great connections with. I missed being able to have a cup of tea and a bagel, while working.  Ahhh, the simple things!

What’s different in your second time around?

Aside from my new position, I came back to a whole bunch of new employees— all of whom I love. Our staff grew a lot, which is great.

Also while I was gone, I got the e-mail about the opening of Mimi’s Attic. I was SOOOOO excited- I couldn’t wait to visit and be able to shop there. And now, I am excited that I get to work there every so often! Once in a while, during my shift at the Goose, I sneak over there to see what has come in… things change so quickly, I am curious every day to get a peak.

When you’re not working, what are you doing?

When am I not working? Haha! What some people may not know is that I am also the manager for Spruce Row Campground & RV Park (here in Ithaca/Trumansburg.) I’ve worked for the campground for ten years. I love both businesses equally and, because of that, my brain is constantly “working”- brainstorming, worrying, wondering, planning, preparing, etc.  I am happy and proud to say that a huge part of my life is my two jobs. However, in the small amount of time I have that is not work related, I love to shop! I love to travel, but I never seem to be able to get very far … maybe someday! I love the beach still. I like to nanny, kids are awesome!  I love just vegging out at home and watching movies. In the winter I love ice skating. I am not much of a snow person, but this winter, I am hoping to learn some new fun winter activities like snowboarding to help me get through it.  In the summer, I love having lake days.

I also have realized over the past year that it’s the simple things are the most enjoyable:  I have an older sister (31) and three younger half-siblings (12, 8, 6) and just hanging out with them is awesome.  Family and friends are something I’ve learned to not take for granted.

Do you have a special relationship with anyone in particular at the Goose?

All of us ladies at the Goose have become friends, which is a definitely a perk about the job… and is also a blessing. But in particular, the famous store manager, Larkin, is my new housemate! We just moved into an apartment together and are having fun making it cute & comfy.

What is your favorite business in Ithaca other than Mimi’s and MG?

I love Purity Ice Cream!! The chocolate-sprinkle-dipped-waffle-cone with 1 scoop mocha & 1 scoop mint chocolate chip ice cream is absolute heaven.

I also love ZaZa’s, yummy! And, Gimme Coffee is always my favorite treat before or during work.

Do you have a group, club, organization, blog or business that you’d like to introduce and link to?

The Elizabeth Amisano Ovarian Cancer Education Fund (also known as Live Like Liz), is a foundation that began when a great friend of mine passed away at the age of 20 from ovarian cancer. Visit www.livelikeliz.org for more information on education, awareness, and the foundation itself.

And, of course, Spruce Row Campground & RV Park on Facebook and the web!

It’s a family-owned and operated campground & RV park, that can accommodate tent campers to large RV’s.  We also offer cabin and RV rentals. In addition to offering the beauty of the outdoors and a traditional regular camping experience, they also offer the planned and hosted activities such as events/crafts/live entertainment, pool, playgrounds, fishing pond, hayrides, etc. Visit the website for more info.

Plus, stay tuned for an upcoming cross-promotion with Mama Goose & Mimi’s Attic and the  opportunity to receive a free night of camping. This will be perfect for those of you who are new to camping but interested in trying it out, or for those who already know they love it!

Do you have a favorite quote? Song? Movie? Book? Color?

My favorite movie is Love & Basketball, and my favorite kid’s movie is The Lion King. I love the color pink!  I have too many favorite songs to list, but right now, Taylor Swift’s new CD is on repeat in my car.

I love any quote that speaks to living life to the fullest, taking chances, and working towards your dreams.

Any book by Roald Dahl is amazing! All his books are my favorites. A second favorite is Strawberry Girl by Lois Lenski.  Kid or grown-up books, these will always be favorites. I learned to read with Go Dog Go. My adult favorite is It’s a Wonderful Lie: 26 Truths About Life in Your Twenties by Emily Franklin.

Are you on FB and/or do you tweet?

Facebook. It’s a love/hate relationship.

-Meryl at the Goose

3 Responses to “Staff Profile: Casey Lees”


  1. Aaaah, Casey’s back! I’ve been smitten with Casey since we met in 8th grade. As much as she hates the snow, I’m glad she’s back in NY. Now to get down to Ithaca to see her…

  2. Theresa Says:

    Yay for Casey! Its a joy to work with her. She is patient and kind. She is really good at what she does and has boat loads of great ideas for the store. I love it when she laughs because its super infectious! She’s proof that good things do indeed come in small packages.
    xoxoxo!

  3. Kelly Says:

    This is the first time we ever telepathically beckoned someone to come work for us, and are feeling pretty proud of ourselves.


Leave a Reply

