First Day of School

September 12, 2010

My middle child has his first day of school tomorrow, although, as “firsts” go, this one is pretty anti-climatic.  It’s his second year in the same pre-school program (ICSD pre-k, HOLLA!) and he did summer school in between.   Some of his classmates will be the same, some of his teachers will be the same, some of his many, many, many, many service providers will be the same.   Plus, we’re totally dumb, so we’d been prepping him to go back to school last Tuesday, assuming he was on the same schedule as his older brother.  We were wrong, and boy did that suck, child-care wise. 

The point is, we haven’t exactly geared up for this momentous return to school.  I haven’t even picked an outfit yet!  (Honestly, I’m not even sure I’ve washed a pair of matching socks yet.)  I’m going to go do a quick load of laundry and try to pick out an ensemble befitting my handsome little man, but before I do, I want to know:

What did your kids wear on the First Day of School? 

-Meryl at the Goose

P.S.  Notice anything funny about this post?  The lack of photo perhaps?  That’s because NOT ONE OF YOU responded to my Facebook post asking for First-Day-of-School pictures.  I’m hurt, but you can redeem yourself by sending pictures now to meryl@mamagooseithaca.com. Better late than never.  Extra points of love and adoration if the children pictured wore Goose gear to school.

P.P.S.  Just in case you were wondering, on my first day of school, I wore what we called the hamburger dress, which was red and covered in pictures of hamburgers.  It was awesome, though not as awesome as this.

One Response to “First Day of School”

  1. Sandra Sorensen Says:

    I am laughing so hard right now. My mom crocheted me a swimsuit once. It was orange. She totally would have made me a hamburger dress if she had stumbled upon the pattern. Although she would have substituted colors as needed, based on what she had in stock. So, my hamburger dress, well, might have been orange! And, this year we did not take a first day of school photo, but just for you I will try to recreate the moment tomorrow!


Leave a Reply

