Lovely, Love My Family

August 27, 2010

When it comes to being a mom, I’m usually on the grumpy side of things.  I mean, I love my kids, but I’m not one of those women who goes through her daily routine filled with inner satisfaction and joy and light and rainbows and all that other stuff due to her motherhood.  I know a couple of those women, and they amaze me, because that’s just not how I roll.  I’m more of a Sarcasmom — going through life making snarky comments as though motherhood is some giant cosmic joke the universe has played on me.

Once in a great while, though, a series of fortunate events gives me a glimpse of how those other moms live.  This week, I got one of those glimpses, and I wanted to share it:

First, my mother swooped in for a week to clean up the utter chaos that has befallen our household since both parents started working full-time, and has taken on more daily responsibility that someone less than half her age (read: me) should be able to handle on her best day.  Makes me regret what a horrible wench I was to her during my teenage years.  Sorry, Mom!  Thank you!

Second, the middle child learned to whistle (pictured above.)  He is filled with a triumph so glorious that you’d think he was the first 4-year-old to climb Everest solo.

Third, the wee one got stung by a bee at school and, true to form, took it like a total champ.  That girl is hardcore, which she didn’t learn from me, and I can’t wait to see what happens when life tries to get in her way as an adult.

Fourth, the teenager agreed to a voluntary rollback of his curfew.  I don’t really know how that happened, and I don’t care, but I know I sleep better when he’s safe and sound inside.

Last, and perhaps best, I overheard the middle one singing to himself while he played with his dinosaurs. What was he singing, you ask?

Lovely.  Love my family.

-Meryl at the Goose

2 Responses to “Lovely, Love My Family”

  1. Val Says:

    I love reading this blog for many reasons, but most of all because I am reminded that I am not the only Sarcasmom out there! Thank You.

    Also, I think it’s fair to liken whistling to climbing Everest. After all, I am 33 and STILL cannot whistle! For shame…

    Thanks for the thoughts, glimpse into your joy and the great link!

  2. casey Says:

    this song was just what JN needed to get out the door on the way to work on his birthday. we love you!


Leave a Reply

