Look of the Week: August 9, 2010

August 9, 2010

“If your mother still drives you to school, you ain’t no gangsta.  Pull your pants up.”

-Jeff Foxworthy

You may recall that my eldest child is a seventeen-year-old boy, and for those of you familiar with the remarkable creature that is the teen boy, you’re aware that they actually have a fair amount in common with infants — all they do is eat and sleep, demand a lot of attention, and occasionally get really stinky.  The biggest difference between the two?  Teenage boys dress themselves.

My teenage boy in particular considers himself a bit of a gangsta fashionista.  This translates into a sneaker fetish, an accessory collection larger than mine, and, of course, the unstoppably saggy pants.  Little did I know that this style would somehow sneakily grow on me, and I would find myself dressing a Look of the Week model like this:

That’s Ben, and he’s angsty, so don’t go hating on his flavor.  The flavor, in this case, consists of a pair of size 11 Nike sneakers ($3.95), a size 2 UP It tank top ($.95) and a size 4 vest by Sesame Street ($2.95).  The jeans are a size 3 by Idexe ($5.95) and, though I failed to capture this photographically, actually have an additional boxer-like waistband sewn above the traditional denim one.  That’s right, your toddler can be gangsta, just like Ben, and look how happy he is (when he takes a break from looking tough.)

I’d go rollin’ with that homie.  Look — he even looks fly from the back.

That’s right, no one on the corner has swagga like Ben.  (Note:  that link is to our family theme song.  We sing it on road trips.  I am possibly the world’s worst mother, but never mind that.   Ben looks adorable.)

-Meryl at the Goose

One Response to “Look of the Week: August 9, 2010”

  1. Erianna Says:

    NOW I know why I like you so much…that’s OUR theme song too! And I almost picked up that vest yesterday…Hmm, now I might have to!


Leave a Reply

