Look of the Week: May 3, 2010

May 3, 2010

As most of you know, Mama Goose carries kids’ clothes from sizes 0 to 14.  While the baby clothes make everybody gush, I actually really like the big kid sizes.  It’s fun to see the variety of styles represented when little people start thinking and dressing like grown-ups.  Plus, sizes in the big kid range are super flexible.   We’ve got mamas who buy size 12 and 14 girls’ jeans, and dads who can fit into big boy shirts.   I find myself, usually unsuccessfully, trying to convince customers of this all the time — customers who are sure that their young teens have outgrown the Goose.  For this Look of the Week, I decided to prove it: 

Meet Mac.  He’s 17, he’s the biggest kid in our family, and in all three pictures below, he’s dressed head-to-lower-leg (the sneakers are his own, and yes, he’s wearing a different pair in each picture, and no, that wasn’t my idea) in Goose garb.

Look 1 consists of size 14 Old Navy cargo shorts ($4.95), an XL t-shirt by Modern Culture ($3.50), an Adidas jacket in size 12/14 ($9.95), and Rocawear sunglasses from our accessories display ($9.99).  Look 2 is a Ralph Lauren buttondown in size 12 and Abercrombie shorts in size 14/16.  Look 3 brings back the Old Navy shorts, and pairs them with a Gap buttondown in 14/16 ($4.50). 

See?  See?  I’m not crazy!  The big kid clothes really do fit really big kids!  Like I always say, “Just because you can fit into adult clothes, it doesn’t mean you grew out of kid clothes.”  Actually, I’ve never said that before, and I probably won’t say it again, ’cause it’s awkwardly worded, but you know what I’m talking about. 

-Meryl at the Goose

One Response to “Look of the Week: May 3, 2010”

  1. Martha Says:

    Omg Mac looks like such a stud in these pictures! I wish he dressed like look number 2 all the time. Tell him I said so.


Leave a Reply

