Look of the Week: April 19, 2010

April 19, 2010

Week after week on Monday, I’ve shown you cute kids in cute clothes, and we ooh and ahh and want to pinch cheeks, and, overall, have a grand old time.   But what about the mamas who make those cute kids?  We sell clothes for them too, and those pregnant lady cheeks are worthy of pinching as well.  Just look at adorable Brittany below:

"I know!  This outfit is totally awesome!  Almost as awesome as I am!"

"How awesome is this outfit? Almost as awesome as I am, right?"

First-time mama-to-be Brittany, who is due in August, is pictured above in a Motherhood Maternity dress, size medium ($6.95), and a Motherhood Maternity sweater, size small ($6.95).  She’s wearing grown-up sized Tevas (our last pair in size 8, $23.98) and a $4.99 necklace from our accessories wall.   It’s a look that just screams  “Someone throw me a baby shower! I’m totally dressed for it!”

A back view of the dress pictured above. There's a bow. Cute, cute, cute.

While Brittany gamely tried on half of our maternity section, from Gap maternity jeans with a Pure T to a Liz Lange eyelet shirt and railroad-striped pants, we chatted.  I learned that she is somewhat new in town, having arrived this past August with her husband straight from Rome, Italy, where they were both teachers at the American Overseas School.  Here in Ithaca, Brittany teaches art at the Fall Creek After School program, while her husband molds young minds at New Roots.   When she’s not at work or shopping the Goose, you can likely find Brittany cooking, hiking, or doing prenatal yoga at Sunrise Yoga.

If this is starting to sound a little bit like a personal ad, I can’t help it.  My favorite part of working at Mama Goose, aside from the outfit-making, of course, is the opportunity to meet the many members of our community who frequent the store.  When a newbie like Brittany appears on the scene, my inner yenta comes out.  I can’t bear to keep my new friend to myself!   I simply have to share, and if I can work a Look of the Week into the introduction, well, then, double yay for me. 

Brittany in Motherhood Maternity jeans and a shirt by BUMP that reads, in sequins, "Baby Under Manufacturing Process." After our photo shoot, Brittany purchased that shirt for herself. If you want to get to know her better, either because she's obviously awesome or because you want to borrow that shirt, you can e-mail her at brittanymusler@gmail.com

-Meryl at the Goose

Blogling postscript:  I’ve also discovered that Brittany is a salsa dancer, chocoholic, and has recently returned from a bike trip to the Netherlands.  Additionally, she’s super crafty, and is looking for other mamas who want to hang out and make cute baby stuff & gear.   She’s also interested in doing a home-made baby food exchange in the fall … a little bit like Kelly’s Dinner Co-op, but for wee ones!

2 Responses to “Look of the Week: April 19, 2010”

  1. Kelly Says:

    I know Brittany! My kids go to Fall Creek and love her! We are all looking forward to meeting the bump…

  2. Kristina Says:

    I know Brittany too! You look lovely!


Leave a Reply

