Customer Profile: Naomi Wilensky

March 25, 2010

Naomi and one of her four girls.

How long have you been a Mama Goose customer and how did you hear about us?

I remember hearing about MG opening from someone at my oldest daughter’s pre-school.  She said something like, “Did you hear about the new used clothing store for kids? The owner is really nice and the clothes are well priced and in great condition!”

How many kids do you shop for and how old are they?

Four daughters — ages 11, 9, 4, and 18 months. You’d think the younger ones could just wear hand-me downs, but often things are out of season or just worn out and we have to start fresh (with gently used clothes from MG, of course!)

What are your favorite kinds of purchases at MG? You’re biggest “score”?

This winter I got boots for the three oldest girls, all at the coat sale. I bought four pairs, not quite sure of some sizes, and only returned one pair.

And then I bought four pairs of shoes for my youngest daughter. We didn’t know her size because we adopted her from Ethiopia. So I emptied out the bin of shoes and bought an assortment. Two fit her, and the others I donated to the orphanage she was in.

Why are you in Ithaca?

My husband and I moved here 14 years ago. He works at Cornell and I work at Tikkun v’Or (Ithaca Reform Temple). We had lived in other central NY cities and love Ithaca the most.

When I get a minute to myself, the first thing I want to do is …

A minute to myself — did you see that I have four kids?! If I do get a minute to myself, I usually take a shower or go to sleep. Or I go to work, which isn’t really by myself, but at least it puts me in the company of other adults.

On a typical day, when I’m not with my kids, I can usually be found …

Yup, still with my kids. Or in the shower.

I know I’m having a bad day when …

I drink more than two cups of coffee. I really shouldn’t have so much, but sometimes I really need it!

The thing that brings me the most joy at this stage of parenting is …

watching when my girls are all getting along well and playing together.

One of my child’s favorite book or toys is …

Art supplies. All my kids like to draw, color, and do craft projects.

Before kids, I never could have fathomed …

how many loads of laundry I would do every week.

Two things that are different about me than five years ago are …

I’ve turned 40, and doubled the number of children in my house.

Most people in Ithaca don’t know that I once …

frequently protested animal abuse at fur stores, circuses, and donkey basketball games.

I have to admit, I love my …

immersion blender. It’s great for easy soup-making.

Can you name one grocery item that can always be found in your kitchen?

Goldfish crackers. Can’t live without them. And all kinds of cheese.

What is your favorite business in Ithaca other than MG?

Autumn Leaves — for books to go with the clothes from MG.

Are you on Facebook and/or do you Tweet?

I’m on FB but I do not Tweet.

Do you have a group, club, organization, blog or business that you’d like us to introduce and link to?

It’s not my blog, but one I read regularly:  http://loveisntenough.com.  It’s for parents who are committed to raising children with an anti-racist outlook.

Hope you all enjoyed meeting Naomi — I know I did.  We here at the Goose get to meet all sorts of wonderful people, either over the cash register or at the buy station.  This Customer Profile series is our way of sharing that very enjoyable vantage point.   We’d love to know more about you, so if you’d like to submit your own Customer Profile Questionnaire, download it here, and e-mail it to meryl@mamagooseithaca.com.

Meryl at the Goose

Leave a Reply

