Look of the Week: March 15

March 15, 2010

Corrina (a card-carrying Woo Girl) has been very busy planning Baby Spring Break 2010 (WOO!)  She’s already picked the ideal outfit for sunning herself on the beach:  a Sand-n-Sun bathing suit in size 24 months ($3.50) underneath a gorgeous eyelet tunic by Gymboree in size 2 ($5.95).  To complete the ensemble, she dons a pair of Cara sandles by See Kai Run ($36.98).  This look will transition seamlessly from poolside to Miami nightlife, as the tunic can double as a dress when layered corretly.  Now if only her mama would lift the ban on toddler-only trips, she’d be all set.  

"I look so good in this bathing suit, I may as well start drinking (from my bottle!) now."

Also, Corrina’s mama needs some input: 

-Meryl at the Goose

9 Responses to “Look of the Week: March 15”

  1. Celia Says:

    Objectifying women starts so early. Why do they have to wear tops at all? They don’t look any different waist up. Especially here in Ithaca, where there are just as many long haired little boys as girls.

    I wouldn’t mind seeing them all run around starkers if it weren’t for potential sunburn.

  2. mama a Says:

    There are so many pervs out there in this day and age. Little kids look just as cute in one pieces that cover a bit more. Why chance it for vanity?

  3. wren Says:

    Seriously not practical. Babies need to cover up their little delicate bodies. Shorts and board shirts all around!

  4. Celia Says:

    Well, I wasn’t thinking it was showing them off, I was thinking it was more about what’s natural. See what I mean about objectifying?

    but like I said, sun safely trumps all.

  5. Janelle Says:

    Although I voted “not okay,” this quiz isn’t specific enough for me. Some two piece suits are great, as they make going to the bathroom or diaper changes easy. I hate little girls in bikinis or any shirt that accentuates their chests. Some people may not see it, but I think its sexualizing kids.

  6. Gina Says:

    I always thought they were weird, though I love the bottoms and swim shirt combos.

  7. katiek Says:

    the actual little-girl-bikini seems to be in the same vein as little girls in makeup or high heels, which never sits well. a tankini is a different story, and to be honest I think having no top on is actually more appropriate than a teensy bikini top.

  8. Gwynne Says:

    Is there really that huge of a difference between a little belly showing and no belly showing on a little girl? A pervert will sexualize a little girl no matter what she is wearing… for the rest of the world, it doesn’t matter. They look cute no matter what!

  9. diane Says:

    I voted yes for “two-piece” but I’m definitely a “no” for bikini. I like a tankini or whatever they want to call it. But like Janelle said, makes going to the bathroom much easier.


Leave a Reply

