My Favorite Things: Mama Goose Accessorizes

March 13, 2010

Mama Goose customer Phoebe Jennings Whitham believes that, when it comes to accessorizing, more is more.

My best friend from college is the most glamorous person I know; she’s the kind of woman who could show up to Saturday morning yoga class wearing a diamond encrusted ostrich feather in her hair and no one would bat an eye. This is why, when she called me shortly after the birth of my daughter Corrina and said, “I have a really important question,” I wasn’t surprised when she followed up with, “When can she start wearing jewelry?”

I have no idea how I answered.  I have a fondness for shiny things myself, and have been dangling sparkly items in front of Rina’s face since she started opening her eyes on a somewhat consistent basis. In our house, womens’ accessories double as (and are sometimes completely converted into) kids’ toys. So, when Kelly Goose first announced that MG was officially starting to buy, sell, and trade women’s accessories, I was beyond pumped. I quickly combed through my collection, isolated some lesser-used pieces, and practically ran them down to the Goose, causing my eagerness became a bit of a joke.  Apparently, Kelly had announced via e-mail our readiness to buy accessories slightly before the paint on the accessory fixture had dried.  (I mean that literally, not as a metaphor for some strange accessory-related psychological cold feet crisis of Kelly’s.) Kelly and the other goslings assumed it would be fine to send out the e-mail, thinking no one was nuts enough to bring anything immediately thereafter.  Now they’ve learned never to estimate the extent of my nuttiness!

MG customer Julia Madrid prefers to see the world through heart-shaped, rose-colored glasses.

Back to the issue at hand, I’ve been psyched to accessorize my kids from the very beginning.  Both small fry in our house maintain extensive sunglasses collections, and are the personal owners of several additional accessories — Corrina in particular just became the owner of a beautiful Magen David (Star of David) bestowed on her by a family friend on the occasion of her Jewish baby naming.

What’s the accessory situation like in your household?  Do you stockpile pretty things that you never wear, knowing that the day you dare to put on those chandelier earrings your friend brought you from Chile one of your children will promptly rip them out of your ears, destroying them and your earlobes in the process?  Or are you one of those women who somehow manages to perfecftly complete your outfits on a daily basis with the ideal baubles?  (I’m talking about you, Kim Hanrahan.) 

My inquiring mind wants to know…

Also, I’d like to take this opportunity to remind you that voting is your patriotic duty, and that duty extends to our online polls.  Nothing bad will happen.  You will not be asked to provide any information other than your opinion, which we here at the Goose value highly.  So, come on.  Rock the vote.  And, if you happened to select option #1 in poll, look at all the pretty earrings pictured below.

 -Meryl at the Goose

Leave a Reply

