Customer Profile: Amber Basos

January 12, 2010

How long have you been a Mama Goose customer and how did you hear about us?

About 3 years. I think I noticed the old shop one day while I was visiting Ithaca. We stopped in and I’ve been a fan ever since!

How many kids do you shop for and how old are they?

I shop for my 3 kids (girls ages almost 6 and almost 7 and a boy 2.5) but I always keep an eye out for things to pick up for my friends kids too.

What are your favorite kinds of purchases at MG? Your biggest “score”?

I think my favorite purchases were a new ergo and prefolds! I used to buy all my diapers online, but shipping prefolds can be really expensive. It’s great to buy cloth diapers in person. I grab jeans and other pants when I can, but my middle child loves crazy skirts and dresses too.

Why are you in Ithaca?

I usually come to Ithaca just to visit Mama Goose! Really! I am planning a trip in the next week or two.

When I get a minute to myself, the first thing I want to do is.…

knit! Assuming all my housework and errands are done! I’m a single mom, so every minute without the kids is a great opportunity to play catch-up.

On a typical day, when I’m not with my kids, I can usually be found.…

running errands or at the local yarn shop.

I know I’m having a bad day when….

the kids are getting on my nerves. Usually we get along great and we all go with the flow. When I start to get irritated with them, I know I’m having a bad day.

The thing that scares me the most about being a parent is.…

the possibility that my kids won’t like me when they grow up.

The thing that brings me the most joy at this stage of parenting is….

crazy toddler antics! My two year old son is so funny and he creates so much trouble! It’s great being able to share it all with my girls. They have just as much fun observing (and rescuing) Finn.

My parenting mantra is….

“Treat them as you would like to be treated.”

One of my child’s favorite book or toy is….

“Nuggy”. It’s a blue bear head blankie that my oldest latched onto when she was a year old. Six years later Nuggy still goes almost everywhere with us, and my other two children help keep an eye on him.

One lesson I learned from an older family member is….

you do what you have to do. My late ex-grandmother-in-law used to tell me about how she took care of 9 children while her husband occasionally worked the graveyard shift. She told stories of scrubbing the floor on her hands and knees, beating rugs out on an old fence, and stretching every penny. She once said to me, “It didn’t matter if I had dropped dead on the kitchen floor. I’d still have to get up and make dinner.” She was a tough lady and a great inspiration.

Before kids, I never could have fathomed….

how much time you spend cleaning things! Cleaning children, cleaning clothing, cleaning dishes, cleaning floors….the list just goes on and on.

Two things that are different about me than five years ago are.…

I am much more patient and far better at being organized.

Most people in Ithaca don’t know that I once….

went bungee jumping in Italy.

I have to admit, I love my….

mini-van. I never wanted one, I didn’t want to be a soccer mom. I’m just way too cool to have a mini-van. Then of course the kids grew and didn’t fit in my little Saturn anymore. I sucked it up, bought a mini-van, and now I love it! It’s great having so much space! The kids aren’t squished and they have their own cupholders! I wish it was more fuel effiecient, so I don’t drive it all the time, only when I need too – but I still love it!

Someday I hope to return to….

Cozumel, Mexico. I could use a nice vacation!

Write your own tagline or motto.

I found this quote by Lady Bird Johnson in my page-a-day calender. “Walk away from it until you’re stronger. All your problems will be there when you get back, but you’ll be better able to cope.” I think it’s great advice.

A recipe you’d like to share is….

Peanut Butter Apple Wraps

Spread peanut butter, apple cinnamon cream cheese, and caramel apple dip on a whole wheat tortilla. Roll up and enjoy!

We also make this with peanut butter and bananas or apples.

Name one grocery item that can always be found in your kitchen.

Popsicles.

Your favorite business in Ithaca other than MG is….

I like to visit the yarn/fabric shop near the commons. Darn, I can’t think of the name. (Blogling note:  The store is called Homespun.)  They carry yarns I can’t find locally.  

Are you on Facebook and/or do you Tweet?

 I’m on Facebook, but I don’t use Twitter.

A group, club, organization, blog or business that you’d like to introduce and link to is…. 

http://freerangekids.wordpress.com/ I’ve been reading this blog for a while now and I really enjoy it.

-The Geese at the Goose

One Response to “Customer Profile: Amber Basos”

  1. Meryl Says:

    Amber,

    We are clearly soul-mamas! My family also cannot survive without a constant supply of popsicles, and I too suffered from acute minivan denial which has since been supplanted by minivan devotion. Next time you’re in the store, you should pick up a “Who’s Your Mama?” bumper sticker — it’ll make you love your minivan even more.


Leave a Reply

