Customer Profile: Lisa Baker

December 29, 2009

How long have you been a Mama Goose customer and how did you hear about us?

I started shopping at the Seneca St. location at the end of 2005, when my son was about six months old.  The first time I walked in I wanted to kick myself for not having gone there sooner, especially when I was preparing for his birth.  We were new in town, so there were no shower gifts and no hand-me-downs.  Mama Goose would have helped a lot!  Ever since then I have been making up for it.  I stop in at least once a week, maybe more.  Before Ben started preschool (and even now, really), I considered a trip to Mama Goose a social event for him.  He crawled or wandered around the store, playing with the toys and interacting with people.  I didn’t have to worry about him and could just relax and shop.

How many kids do you shop for and how old are they?

Ben, four and a half.

What are your favorite kinds of purchases at MG? You’re biggest “score”?

I like buying jeans at Mama Goose.  The selection is great and I can’t stand spending $20-$30 dollars each for several new pairs of jeans each season.  At my last visit, I found a pair of 5T fleece-lined jeans that I’ll put in the attic for next winter.

I usually get Ben a couple of pairs of new shoes each a year, so I’m grateful that Mama Goose has started selling toddler/preschool sized new shoes.  A few months ago I got a new pair of Jumping Jacks for twenty-some dollars, which Ben is wearing right now.

How did you land in Ithaca?

My husband got a job at Ithaca College and we moved here in July 2004.  I got pregnant in the first month.

When I get a minute to myself, the first thing I want to do is..…

go for a long walk.

The thing that brings me the most joy at this stage of parenting is..…

all the hugs and kisses.

My parenting mantra is…..

try to be consistent.

One of my child’s favorite book or toy is..…

Richard Scarry books, robots, and Zoobs.

One lesson I learned from an older family member is..…

don’t phrase requests like questions, for example, don’t say, “Do you want to go to bed now?”

Before kids, I never could have fathomed.….

that I could enjoy playing “The Busytown Board Game.”

Two things that are different about me than five years ago are..…

I take afternoon naps!

Most people in Ithaca don’t know that I have…..

spent a total of two years living in Moscow, Russia.

Name one grocery item that can always be found in your kitchen?

Carrots.  It’s an easy snack food and we all like them.

What is your favorite business in Ithaca other than MG?

GreenStar.  I also recently discovered Tuff Soul.  I got a new-to-me winter coat there just recently, which I love.

Are you on Facebook and/or do you Tweet?

Facebook.  I’m a fan of Mama Goose.

Do you have a group, club, organization, blog or business that you’d like us to introduce and link to?

St. Paul’s Preschool:  http://spnsithaca.googlepages.com/ Our family loves St. Paul’s.  It’s a great place to learn social skills, play with other kids, and have a lot of fun.

-The Geese at The Goose

Leave a Reply

