Customer Profile: Asha Sanaker

November 21, 2009

How long have you been a Mama Goose customer and how did you hear about us?

My dear friend Michelle was one of the original founders of Mama Goose. It has always been a space where two mamas catching up about our lives could be interspersed with the regular business of the day, and no one thought it odd or bothersome.  It’s a real mother-friendly space, which is rare.

How many kids do you shop for and how old are they?

I have two girls, Ruby (2) and Hazel (6).

What are your favorite kinds of purchases at MG? You’re biggest “score”?

Being able to outfit both girls warmly for winter for around $100 is incredible.  I came home from the Winter Coat Sale with a snow princess costume for Hazel this year that was sparkly enough to make her happy and warm enough to make me happy.  That’s a lot of happy for $8! As for the socks and tights, there are never enough of them to keep up with my kids so being able to get good quality on the cheap is tremendous.

When I get a minute to myself, the first thing I want to do is…..

find a seat in a quiet, warm place where I can drink coffee, stare out at the scenery and write.

On a typical day, when I’m not with my kids, I can usually be found..…

working at GreenStar.  I’m the Finance Manager there.

My parenting mantra is…..

that if life proceeds in the normal course, they’re only going to spend a quarter of their life with me, so my job is to prepare them to lead vibrant, productive, joyful lives away from me.  So I love them with as much wild abandon as I want them to love themselves, and I provide them with loving company while they learn the sometimes hard lessons of honesty, respect for others, responsibility, patience, humility.

One lesson I learned from an older family member is…

there is nothing wrong with putting energy into making yourself feel beautiful.  My grandmother was a true Southern lady, born and bred in Memphis, and believed in wearing pretty clothes and sparkly jewelry and never leaving the house without your lipstick on.  Though I’m not one for lipstick, I have two very girlie-girls and I don’t find it as horrifying as some of my girlfriends, because I get it.  Adornment is fun and joyful and as long as they’re doing it because they want to and it makes them happy then I say go ahead.

Name one grocery item that can always be found in your kitchen?

Butter.  I believe in butter.

Are you on Facebook and/or do you Tweet?

Yup, I love Facebook.

Do you have a group, club, organization, blog or business that you’d like us to introduce and link to?

I write a blog as regularly as I can manage which I’m pretty proud of.  It’s at www.point-circle-line.com

-The Geese at The Goose

2 Responses to “Customer Profile: Asha Sanaker”

  1. hillary Says:

    Asha, your grandmother sounds like a fun and sparkly lady 🙂


  2. Hi, Asha!

    I thought of you, because my three-year-old just sang the following son while eating his breakfast:

    “Butter, BUTTER, butter, BUTTER, I am READY FOR YOU!!!!!!!”

    (He’s eating toast.)

    -Meryl


Leave a Reply

