Co-op Dinners

October 5, 2009

Imagine, 2 nights a week, a fully-prepared home cooked dinner arrives at your door for you and your family to enjoy.  It’s what our family calls The Dinner Co-op.
Here’s how our co-op works: Three families, including ours, have agreed to share the responsibility of nightly dinner preparation. Each family cooks one night a week for all three co-op families (five adults and six kids). Then, two nights a week each coop family receives a delicious meal!

Our Dinner Co-op is vegetarian and we limit cheese for one of the children. Other than that, I let my burgeoning produce drawer* be my inspiration and motivator.  This week, Chard poked out of every drawer in the fridge so I made Chard Cheese Pie from Laurel’s Kitchen.

Laurel's Chard Cheese Pie

Laurel's Chard Cheese Pie

I don’t know what possessed me, but I felt the perfect accompaniment to this dish was veggie pigs in a blanket. Yes, I did consider making the biscuits from scratch, but cut myself a break and bought the cans. They’re just so fun to open.

Vegie Pigs in a Blanket!

Vegie Pigs in a Blanket!

I absolutely love finishing off scraps and space hogs in the refrigerator so already I feel good about this coop. Currently, we’re making piping hot deliveries by car or on foot, but I’m dreaming of a large sturdy wagon.  And there goes the delivery service now …

Delivering dinner for 8.

Delivering dinner for 8.

Cooking for eleven people takes some adjusting. I found the easiest way for me to pull it off was to carve out one morning, or an entire slow moving day, for cooking. While I have everything out, I try to make a soup or something else for us to get through the weekend.  I bet we’re all over-cooking in an effort not to wind up short. I’m finding that I have a lot of leftovers to choose from when packing lunches. But, that’s a plus!

-Kelly Goose

*You too can have a burgeoning produce drawer. Check out this link for a CSA near you.  http://www.localharvest.org/

